hip hop muse

hip hop don’t stop. whatever i give you, it will be heavily seasoned with hip hop flavor like your grandma’s secret fried chicken recipe. this is the life of a b-girl. street fab, urban sophisticate. ghetto socialite. all the way real. are you down?

LA Fashion Week, listening parties & stuff October 15, 2008

It’s cracking this week in Los Angeles, moreso than I’ve seen in some time. It’s LA Fashion Week, so there are a gazillion shows and associated events going on. On the hip hop front, Jay Z is performing tonight at the Holllywood Palladium with DJ AM on the 1s and 2s. God bless that brother for coming out of such a tragedy. And what better way to get back into the swing of things, by DJ’ing for Jigga.

It’s listening party galore this week too. I guess everyone’s gearing up for those Q4 album releases. Last night, Kanye & E-40 each had listening parties for their new projects. Tonight is the Q-Tip listening party for his new album “The Renaissance.” I had the opportunity to attend 40 Water’s listening party, and it was interesting to say the least.

I’m not the biggest E-40 fan, but I respect his work and I like quite a few songs he’s put out. “Sprinkle Me” used be my joint, along with “Hurricane.” He undoubtedly helped put the Bay Area on the map and has made a significant contribution to not only west coast hip hop, but hip hop as a whole. He is the man responsible for hip hop lingo like, “fa sheezy,” and “my nizzle.” He’s the first person I know of who used such terms.

Back to the listening party. 40’s new album “Ball Street Journal” is ok, I guess. Most of the tracks consist of bass heavy party music. Which isn’t a bad thing. 40 is known for making party music. “Tell Me When To Go” is guaranteed to make a party jump. But the new stuff isn’t very memorable for me.

What was memorable was when I met Too Short at E-40’s party. Dude is an OG. I kept referring to him as Mr. Shaw, which I think made him feel old because he winced every time I said it. But it seemed the most appropriate way to refer to him, being that he’s been in the rap game since 1983. He’s been rapping almost as long as I’ve been alive. Biggups to Mr. Shaw, aka Short Dog, aka Short Dog the Pimp. He is indeed pimpish in his ways, he’s very charming. The ladies were showing him love last night.

Read about Kanye’s listening party here. Wish I coulda made that one, but it’s all good. Maybe next album.

Until we meet again,

HipHopMuse

 

Leave a Reply

