hip hop muse

hip hop don’t stop. whatever i give you, it will be heavily seasoned with hip hop flavor like your grandma’s secret fried chicken recipe. this is the life of a b-girl. street fab, urban sophisticate. ghetto socialite. all the way real. are you down?

VH-1 Hip Hop Awards October 9, 2008

Watched it, loved it.

Tracy Morgan is hilarious as the master of ceremony. I like that moniker, master of ceremony. It goes, master of ceremony, MC, microphone checker, emcee…did you see ’em, they wanna be me…like my rhymes? Ok, ok, my bad for getting carried away. I’ll stick to blogging.  Anywho, I loved T. Morgan’s play on the ’08 Presidential Election. It’s obvious that dude is very intelligent, and very hip hop, which I appreciate. And he has great one-liners, a la Chris Rock.

Cypress Hill, De La Soul, Slick Rick, Too Short, and Naughty By Nature.  These artists are innovative, unique, and most importantly, they’ve put in work. To paraphrase Too Short, check their resumes. If you put it all on paper and look at it, they’ve done a lot. You gotta respect them for it.

To me, that’s some of the inspiration behind hip hop. The grind to succeed. Check the resume, look what I’ve accomplished. You don’t have to love me. You don’t have to like me. But you will respect me. Why? ‘Cause I’m a boss! (From Kelis, “Bossy.”)

Is it hip hop award month or something? The BET Hip Hop Awards airs Thurs, Oct 23 at 8p. Sidebar: I want to make it clear that I have very little respect for this network, but my significant other works for them and he produced a segment for this year’s show. I support hip hop, I support my boo, but I do not support BET Networks. I’m convinced that their goal is to decimate the image of black people on television. It’s safe to say I support their good programming, like American Gangster, which premieres immediately after the award show. Support American Gangster, but boycott bullshit like Hell Date. End sidebar.

People I was really happy to see: Eve, Scarface, Big Boi of Outkast, Busta Rhymes.

People I think should be honored next year: Jay-Z, Ice Cube, E-40, Outkast, UGK, Common, Eve, DMX, The Lox.

Did you watch the show? What did you think? I would love to hear your thoughts and comments.

Hip Hop Muse

 

Leave a Reply

