hip hop muse

hip hop don’t stop. whatever i give you, it will be heavily seasoned with hip hop flavor like your grandma’s secret fried chicken recipe. this is the life of a b-girl. street fab, urban sophisticate. ghetto socialite. all the way real. are you down?

on the late nite September 8, 2008

Filed under: now that's hip hop,throwback moments — hiphopmuse @ 6:42 pm
Tags: , ,

Last night I had a bout of insomnia. I was up until 2am for no apparent reason at all. So I stayed up watching videos on VH-1 Soul, and lo and behold the video that came on:

Group Home’s “Supa Star”? I totally forgot about this song. I didn’t know it had a video, either. But then again, when I first heard the track, we didn’t have cable and I was recording songs off the radio onto cassette tapes. Maybe I’m the one late.

I’m excited to share this video with you, it’s a dope song. Rhymes are ill, the style is slick. The track is produced by DJ Premier, if you listen closely you can tell. This is when hip hop still had a hardcore, yet jazzy feel. I know I sound like an old fogey, but hey, it’s not my fault most of the shit out these days is weak.

Enjoy!

The Hip Hop Muse

 

One Response to “on the late nite”

  1. DirtyJerz Says:

    HAHA! Word is Bawn! HipHopMuse, you beat me to this joint!….this Group Home album is, by far, DJ Premier’s absolute best work. While these two cats, Malachi “theNutcracker” and “Lil’ Dap” weren’t the best MC’s in the game, Premo’s beats carried this entire CD to make this one of my top 20 albums that you must have in your arsenal.


Leave a Reply

